In the midst of the current concerns regarding the coronavirus, we want our clients to know that the Altick & Corwin Co., L.P.A. office is open for business, but we are restricting visitors from coming to our offices.
Appointments are being handled over the telephone or through facetime and other means of communications.
The attorneys and staff are taking all necessary precautions to keep our employees healthy and physically distanced from each other. As far as we know, none of our employees have tested positive for COVID-19.
We encourage clients to continue to call or email our attorneys. If a call goes to the attorney’s voice mail, the attorney will receive an email of that call. Thus, all calls will be able to be returned to you, but please be patient in waiting for the return call.
We will update you as things change, but in the meantime, please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns.
Take care and be safe. Thank you.

Low-tier vs. high-tier OVI in Ohio

Operating a vehicle impaired, or OVI, results in mandatory jail time in Ohio. The state distinguishes between low-tier and high-tier OVI offenses based on the driver’s blood alcohol content at the scene. 

Drivers facing OVI charges in Ohio should understand the difference between these penalty categories. 

Low-tier OVI

This category covers OVI involving BAC from 0.08% to 0.17%. For the first low-tier offense, a convicted person could receive: 

  • A mandatory minimum of three days and up to six months in jail or in a driver alcohol intervention program 
  • Fines of $375 to $1,075 
  • Mandatory six-month to three-year license revocation, with a limited license available for qualifying drivers 
  • Probation for up to five years 

For drivers who are not yet 21, the BAC limit for a low-tier OVI is 0.02%. These motorists may receive a fine of up to $250 and a 90-day license suspension. 

High-tier OVI

Drivers arrested with BAC of 0.17% or higher may receive: 

  • A mandatory minimum of six days and up to six months in jail 
  • Fines of $375 to $1,075 
  • Mandatory six-month to three-year license revocation, with a yellow restricted OVI license plate and ignition interlock device upon reinstatement 

In addition to high-tier vs. low-tier penalties, penalties increase for drivers who have a commercial license and those who refuse a breath test when arrested. Drivers who have more than one OVI offense in Ohio will receive a court recommendation for alcohol and drug dependence screening and must receive mandatory substance use disorder treatment if indicated by the screening results.